Gluten-Free Cornbread

Well, we are headed into winter, time for stews, soups and chili. I am trying my hand at cornbread. I have a lot of cornmeal and would love to perfect a recipe. Little Miss came in from playing outside to join me in the experiment.

IMG_9250Little Miss in her new apron ready to help

So here’s what I ended up doing tonight. I decided to take a basic recipe from Betty Crocker and make it dairy and gluten-free. I changed out the wheat flour for rice flour, the regular milk with rice milk and used sucanat instead of regular sugar. I made it the traditional way by pouring it into a hot cast iron pan and then baking it in the pan even though the directions were different than that.

The entire family was surprised with how well it worked out. It was nice and brown and sweet. With melted Earth’s Balance on top it was perfect to go with our soup tonight.

I did use an egg, just so you know. I will try it next time without an egg and see what happens, since I shouldn’t use them, but I was desperate for something to turn out tonight! So, I’ll keep you updated on that one. It’s so hard to bake without eggs. Nothing turns out well without them. Well, almost nothing.

IMG_9251

Gluten-Free Cornbread

1 cup rice milk
1 egg
¼ cup Earth’s Balance stick melted
1¼ cup corn meal (I used Bob’s Red Mill since we were sent a ton from them)
1 cup rice flour (normally the recipe calls for regular flour)
½ cup sucanat (called for regular sugar)
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon of salt

Beat together the milk, “butter”, and egg in a large bowl. Stir the remaining ingredients all at once until flour is moistened (batter will be lumpy). Pour batter into a hot cast iron griddle that has been greased with shortening. Bake for 20 minute at 400 until toothpick comes out clean. I used a small pan so it was done early at about 15 mins.

IMG_9252In the pan on the stove sizzlin’ the bottom before baking! Mmm, mmm.

I never took an after photo, shame it looked so nice! I’ll have to be sure to do that next time around.

Until next time,

3 comments

  1. I make cornbread with just cornmeal, no flour. It is not as fluffy but I like very thin cornbread! It also isn’t sweet (no sugar) and has an egg and buttermilk.

    I think the cast iron skillet is definitely the key to good cornbread!!!

Leave a Reply

