Dairy

Dairy Allergy Things to AVOID

Butter including artificial & flavors
Casein
Caseinates
Cheese (all types)
Cheese flavor (artificial & natural)
Cheese food
Imitation cheese
Vegetarian cheeses with casein
Cream, whipped cream
Curds
Custard
Dairy product solids
Galactose
Ghee
Half & Half
Hydrolysates
Ice cream, Ice milk & Sherbet
Lactalbumin
Lactalbumin phosphate
Lactate solids
Lactyc yeast
Lactitol monohydrate
Lactoglobulin
Lactose
Lactulose
Milk: Incl. powders, flavors & proteins
Milk fat & anhydrous milk fat
Nisin preparation
Nougat
Pudding
Quark
Recaldent
Renned, rennet casein
Simplesse (fat replacer)
Sour cream: Incl. solids & imitation
Whey (any and all)
Yogurt (regular or frozen)
Yogurt powder

Possible sources of milk:

Natural flavoring
Flavoring
Caramel flavoring
High protein flour
Lactic acid (usually not a problem)
Lactic acid starter culture
“Non-dairy” products may contain casein: Rice cheese & Soy cheese

Watch your deli counters as well. Quite often they do not have dedicated cheese slicers and your meat could be cross-contaminated. Deli meats will often have dairy in them as well. I have never found a deli counter not willing to let me see the ingredients in their meat; just ask with a smile.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s