Gluten

Gluten Allergy Things to AVOID

Please NOTE:

This is only a partial list, unfortunately Gluten is hidden in a lot of ingredients.
Check out this link for a more in depth list and for more information regarding specific ingredients.

Do not be overwhelmed by this list even though it is extensive it will become second nature to know what is safe and what’s not. Also note: if you have a wheat allergy, your list is not as extensive, but everything on a wheat list is listed here. Keep in mind that just because something is wheat-free does not mean it’s gluten-free. Gluten is in oats, barley, rye and other grains that do not contain wheat.


Abyssinian Hard (Wheat triticum durum)
Alcohol (Spirits – Specific Types)
Amp-Isostearoyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
Atta Flour
Barley Grass (can contain seeds)
Barley Hordeum vulgare
Barley Malt
Beer
Bleached Flour
Bran
Bread Flour
Brewer’s Yeast
Brown Flour
Bulgur (Bulgar Wheat/Nuts)
Bulgur Wheat
Cereal Binding
Chilton
Club Wheat
Common Wheat
Cookie Crumbs
Cookie Dough
Cookie Dough Pieces
Couscous
Criped Rice
Dinkle (Spelt)
Disodium Wheatgermamido Peg-2 sulfosuccinate
Durum wheat (Triticum durum)
Edible Coatings, Films & Starch
Einkorn (Triticum monococcum)
Emmer (Triticum dicoccon)
Enriched Flour (bleached & wheat)
Farina & Farina Graham
Farro
Filler
Flour (normally this is wheat)
Fu (dried wheat gluten)
Germ
Graham Flour
Granary Flour
Groats (barley, wheat)
Hard Wheat
Heeng
Hing
Hordeum Vulgare Extract
Hydrolyzed Wheat Gluten & Protein
Hydrolyzed Wheat Starch
Hydroxypropyltrimonium hydrolyzed wheat protein
Kamut (Pasta wheat)
Kecap Manis (Soy Sauce)
Ketjap Manis (Soy Sauce)
Kluski Pasta
Maida (Indian wheat flour)
Malt
Malted Barley Flour
Malted Milk
Malt Extract
Malt Syrup
Malt Flavoring
Malt Vinegar
Macha Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
Matza & Matzah
Matzo & Matzo Semolina
Meringue
Meripro 711
Mir
Nishasta
Oats (not all are gluten-free)
Orzo Pasta
Pasta
Pearl Barley
Persian Wheat
Perungayam
Poulard Wheat
Polish Wheat
Rice Malt (if barley or Koji used)
Roux
Rusk
Rye
Seitan
Semolina
Semolina Triticum
Shot Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
Small Spelt
Spirits (Specific Types)
Spelt (Triticum spelta)
Sprouted Wheat or Barley
Stearyldimoniumhydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
Strong Flour
Suet in Packets
Tabbouleh
Tabouli
Teriyaki Sauce
Textured Vegetable Protein – TVP
Timopheevi Wheat (Triticum timopheevii)
Triticale X triticosecale
Triticum (any and all)
Udon (wheat noodles)
Unbleached Flour
Vital Wheat Gluten
Wheat (any and all versions)
Wheat Germ (any and all versions)
Wheat Grass (can contain seeds)
Whole-Meal Flour
Wild Einkorn (Triticum boeotictim)
Wild Emmer (Triticum dicoccoides)

Possible sources of gluten:

The following items may or may not contain gluten depending on where and how they are made and it is sometimes necessary to check with the manufacturer to find out:

Artificial Color
Baking Powder
Caramel Color
Caramel Flavoring
Clarifying Agents
Coloring
Dextrins
Dextrimaltose
Diglycerides
Dry Roasted Nuts
Emulsifiers
enzymes
Fat Replacer
Flavoring
Food Starch
Food Starch Modified
Glucose Syrup
Glycerides
Gravy Cubes
Ground Spices
HPP
HVP
Hydrolyzed Plant Protein
Hydrolyzed Protein
Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein
Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysate
Hydroxypropylated Starch
Maltodextrin
Maltose
Miso
Mixed Tocopherols
Modified Food Starch
Modified Starch
Mono and Diglycerides
Monoglycerides
Natural Flavoring
Natural Flavors
Natural Juices
Non-dairy Creamer
Pregelatinized Starch
Protein Hydrolysates
Seafood Analogs
Seasonings
Sirimi
Smoke Flavoring
Soba Noodles
Soy Sauce
Soy Sauce Solids
Sphingolipids
Stabilizers
Starch
Stock Cubes
Suet
Tocopherols
Vegetable Broth
Vegetable Gum
Vegetable Protein
Vegetable Starch
Vitamins & Medicines
Wheat Starch

Gluten Beware List

Advice from health food stores – we were told spelt is gluten free – it is not
Bulk bins – people are not always careful and will use scoops from other bins
Stamps, envelopes and other gummed items could contain gluten
Grilled foods at restaurants
Ground spices – it is common to use wheat to prevent clumping
Toothpastes, lotions and shampoos can contain gluten – lotions are a concern if you have skin reactions to gluten
Rice & Soy Beverages – sometimes production utilizes barley enzymes, so check with manufacturers
Wheat-free is NOT gluten-free – Barley, oats and rye contain gluten
Communion at church is not gluten free and if you share a common wine cup beware of crumbs

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s